UCSC Currents online

Front Page
Classified Ads
Making the News
Take Note

March 27, 2000


Quentin Williams

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has awarded professor of earth sciences Quentin Williams the Macelwane Medal for 2000. The Macelwane Medal is the highest honor bestowed upon young researchers by the AGU.

Established in 1961 and renamed in 1986 in honor of James B. Macelwane, this medal recognizes significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding young scientist (less than 36 years of age). Macelwane, the AGU's 13th president, was renowned not just for his contributions to geophysics but also for his deep interest in teaching and encouraging young scientists.

The medal adds to a growing list of honors for Williams, who also won the Mineralogical Society of America Award for 2000 and was a National Science Foundation Presidential Faculty Fellow from 1993 to 1998.

Three faculty in the Earth Sciences Department have now received the Macelwane Medal: professor and chair Thorne Lay, professor Marcia McNutt, and Williams. Only a handful of other universities, including Harvard, Stanford, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, have three or more Macelwane medalists on their faculties.

  Maintained by pioweb@cats