[Currents header graphic]

June 1, 1998

Humanities undergraduates earn awards to pursue research

Past and current recipients of Humanities Undergraduate Awards in Research stand with humanities dean Jorge Hankamer. They are (l to r): Dana Kawaoka, Hankamer, Tia Miyuki Morita, Kathleen Simonton, Emily Urban, and Marc Cirovic.

By Barbara McKenna

On May 20 the Humanities Division hosted a celebration announcing the recipients of the Winter 1998 Humanities Undergraduate Awards in Research. The award program, now in its third year, was launched to encourage student participation in humanities research. Award recipients are selected by committee, are supported by a faculty sponsor, and receive $500 each in support of their research.

Along with honoring this year's recipients, the May 20 event featured presentations by three of last year's award winners on the results of their research. This year's recipients are: Gabriella de la Rosa, Reyna Grande, Kelly Holt, Dana Kawaoka, Marina Malikoff, Megan McNamara, Deirdre Morgan, Tia Miyuki Morita, Helen Perdue, and Kathleen Simonton

To the Currents home page

To UCSC's home page