[Currents header graphic]
April 6, 1998

Polling sites at UCSC's colleges to serve voters in April election

The Santa Cruz County Elections Department has designated eight polling places--one at each of UCSC's colleges--for students, faculty, and staff who live on campus. Each registered voter has been assigned one of the polling places for a special Santa Cruz City School District election scheduled for Tuesday, April 14.

More than 2,760 people living on campus are registered to vote in April's election, where voters will weigh in on Measures E and H.

Both measures are designed to provide funding for rehabilitating Santa Cruz district schools, including renovating, constructing, and modernizing classrooms and making other school-facility improvements, according to information provided in the voter pamphlet. Measure E applies to renovating elementary schools. Measure H applies to junior and senior high schools.

The polling locations are as follows:

Please note: Residents of The Village vote at Cowell; residents of the Faculty Housing complex at the base of campus vote at Stevenson; Family Student Housing residents vote at Oakes; residents of the camper park north of Kresge vote at Kresge; and residents of the Crown/Merrill Apartments vote at Crown.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. People are requested to vote during the mid-morning or mid-afternoon hours if possible to help shorten the lines during the evening rush.

For more information, call the Santa Cruz County Elections Department at (408) 454-2060.

To the Currents home page

To UCSC's home page