[Currents headergraphic]

April 14, 1997

Awards and Honors

Three members of the Institute of Marine Sciences earned kudos in recent months. The California Academy of Sciences elected professor of biology Dan Costa as a fellow. IMS director and professor of earth sciences Gary Griggs joined the National Research Council's Committee on Coastal Engineering Research and Education Needs. Lastly, the Society for Marine Mammalogy elected assistant professor of biology Terrie Williams as its secretary.

UCSC scientists captured three of six poster awards at the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary's annual meeting, held recently in Santa Cruz. The award for best overall poster went to professor emeritus of biology John Pearse and three students: Eric Danner and Lani Watson, graduate students in ocean sciences, and Chela Zabin, senior in marine biology. Their poster concerned "Stability and flux in the rocky intertidal." Felicia Rein, graduate student in environmental studies, won best student poster for "Effects of native perennial grasses on non-point-source pollutants in Elkhorn Slough." Winning for most innovative poster were Institute of Marine Sciences assistant researcher Caroline Pomeroy and graduate student in sociology Julie Beck, for "An experiment in cooperative management: Preliminary findings on the Big Creek hook-and-line kelp-bed survey."

Return to the Currents home page

Go to UCSC's home page